Candidate forum set for Tuesday

Archive Section: 

The Top O' Texas Republican Women's Club is sponsoring a candidate forum for City Commission and school board candidates at 6:30 p.m., Tuesday in the Pampa High School Commons.  

Candidates who will be on the ballot for the City of Pampa and Pampa Independent School District elections are scheduled to attend. 

The only open seat in the two elections is place 6 on the PISD board. Louis Nava and Lance DeFever will contend for that place. Board member Matt Brock did not refile.

The four unopposed candidates are: Jay Johnson — place 1; David Teichmann — place 4; Lee Porter — place 5; and Cay Warner — place 7.

Also appearing on the ballot will be seats on the City Commission representing Wards 1 and 3 (Commissioners John Studebaker and Robert Dixon); and the mayor (Brad Pingel). They, too, are running unopposed.

Each candidate will be given two minutes to speak about himself or his position. 

The audience will be given an opportunity to write questions that they would like to ask the candidates. The questions will then be presented to the candidates by the moderator of the forum.  

The big-ticket item in the May 11 election is the mixed drink referendum. In December, the City of Pampa received more than 1,300 verified signatures in support of serving mixed drinks at restaurants in town.

Those against the referendum have argued that allowing mixed drink sales is a social taboo that could lead to more destructive social ills, such as drunk driving.

Jana Vinson, president of the Top O' Texas Republican Club, said she has lined up a  speaker to address each side of the issue. Audience members will be given the opportunity to ask those speakers questions, Vinson said.

All citizens of Pampa are invited and encouraged to attend. 

For questions, call Jana Vinson at 806-669-1990 or 806-662-5543.

Subscriber Login

Login Help

Thank you for visiting our new website. For your initial login to the site, please use the following information:

Username: Your current username (or screen name from the previous site)
Password: Please also use your username as the password

You can change your password after successfully logging into the site. Thank you.

Comment Here